FREEDOM OF EXPRESSIONS

Living in a city like Chicago, it is commonplace to see graffiti everywhere. (Even though spray paint is illegal in the city – found that out the hard way while working on a project.)

Although a lot of the tagging is unseemly, every once in a while I come across something that actually grabs my attention. Most are funny, some are even a tad bit poignant. But the common factor for them all is the simple randomness of the statements.

Here are a few points of view I’ve spotted around recently:

NAIL

NAIL BITTER: A HABIT I DON’T HAVE TO PAY FOR. (Yes, it’s misspelled, but amazing anyway.)

CLAM

CLAM CHOUDER: Again, we have a bad speller on our hands. This tag started showing up everywhere a few months ago – and brought the laughs. Unfortunate gang moniker, I think.

ETHAN

ETHAN WAS HERE: Unfortunately, sometime after April 2008 someone let him know that no one cared. Poor Ethan.

FORGIVE1

FORGIVE2

FORGIVE3

FORGIVE4

FORGIVE, FORGIVE, FORGIVE YOURSELF: Truly one of the more uplifting tags around Uptown. I pass this each time I go to my friend Amy’s house. And each time I try to remember to forgive, forgive, forgive myself.

Leave a Reply

